About Music Press Live Works Contact
Shawn Crouch


Ensemble Ibis
Shawn Crouch, Artistic Director

The Frost New Music Festival’s opening concert features works by young and vibrant composers that reflect on the year 2020. Works include Starbursts by Jessie Montgomery (recipient of the Leonard Bernstein Award from the ASCAP Foundation), Harvest Lament by Frost alum Matthew Evan Taylor (M.M. ’11, toured with Moses Mayfield), and Within Her Arms by Anna Clyne (GRAMMY®-nominated composer of acoustic and electro-acoustic music) as well as the music of the late Italian composer Luciano Berio.

Chuck Mason, Director

Enjoy an exciting night of original student compositions from the Frost School of Music’s Department of Composition and Theory. This year’s participants are John Baxter (D.M.A. ‘22), Carlos Patino (D.M.A. ‘21), Armando Torrea (B.M. ‘22), David Caldarella (BM ‘24), Sidney O’Gorma (B.M. 22), Greg Watson (‘21), Olivia Kieffer (D.M.A. ‘22), Ryne Siesky (D.M.A. ‘22), and Sydney Altbacker (B.M. ‘23).

Shawn Crouch, Artistic Director
Rachel Weiss, Guest Soloist

Join us for a memorable evening when Ensemble Ibis performs the music of newly named Frost 2021 Distinguished Composer-In-Residence Cuban born Tania León (one of 19 female composers the New York Philharmonic commissioned to honor the centenary of women’s suffrage), along with critically acclaimed faculty composer Charles Norman Mason and student composers Kira Namiko Wales and Ryne Siesky. The first half closes with Australia composer Brett Dean’s haunting duo for drums and trumpets, “…the scene of the crime…” 

Acclaimed mezzo soprano Rachel Weiss (D.M.A. composer and new music specialist) is special guest soloist joining the Ensemble, performing Italian composer and 20th century icon Luciano Berio’s “Folk Songs.” Hailing from Israel, Weiss has performed with leading orchestras including the Israeli Philharmonic and the Haifa Symphony.

Robert van Sice - Artistic Director, The Percussion Collective

Svetoslav Stoyanov, Virtual Concert Producer

Currently in residence at the Frost School of Music, The Percussion Collective is a stunning team of artists poised to reinvent the concert experience. 

The group transcends the medium of percussion through memorable performances that engage audiences at a profound emotional level.
Listen to The Collective perform original works by Frost Faculty Composers Shawn Crouch, Dorothy Hindman, Juraj Kojs, Charles Norman Mason, and Scott Stinson. 

This virtual collaboration celebrates music and artists working together in overcoming immense obstacles for the sake of creating and performing for their audiences.


Current Releases

Adolescent Psychology, Onyx, American Modern Ensemble, Navona Records
The Light of Common Day
Seraphic Fire, Reincarnations: A Century of American Choral Music, Seraphic Fire Media
Lullaby, from The Garden of Paradise, Chancticleer, Best of Chanticleer, Rhine Records, Catalogue # 844
City Columns, Mementos, Moravian Philharmonic, Vit Micka conductor, Navona Records Catalog #5816
Pie Jesu, from The Road from Hiroshima, A Requiem, Seraphic Fire, Seraphic Fire, Patrick Dupré Quigley, Seraphic Fire Media, Catalog #11
Suspended Contact, Yesaroun' Duo, Eric Hewitt, Alto Saxophone, Samuel Z. Solomon, percussion, Yesaround Duo, SZ Solomon
Shawn Crouch Soundcloud


Dr. Shawn Crouch, Assistant Professor of Professional Practice

School Logo
Artistic Director, Ensemble Ibis
PLFN 212
Office Phone: 305-284-6231